top of page

    My four published novels are the first in a series which I call Beyond the Blue Horizon. I expect to produce a total of twelve books centered around the life and adventures of Wisconsin farm boy Otto Kerchner.       

On Wings of the Morning (Volume 1)

Young Otto Kerchner dreams of escaping his father’s Wisconsin dairy farm and becoming a flier like his hero Charles Lindbergh. When a small airport is built on an adjoining property, Otto... Read More

On the Wings of Eagles (Volume 2)

On the Wings of Eagles continues the saga of Wisconsin farm boy Otto Kerchner as he, his sister Mata and the community of Pioneer Lake make their way in the brave new world of post-World War II ... Read More

On Wings of Angels (Volume 3)

On the Wings of Angels continues the saga of Otto Kerchner, the airplane-loving Wisconsin farm boy who becomes a reluctant hero during World War II in On Wings of the Morning (Book One) and continues... Read More

On the Wings of Grace (Volume 4)

The story of Otto Kerchner’s life continues in this book with the unexpected turns, warmly portrayed characters, and richly remembered settings that readers have come to expect from the Beyond the Blue Horizon... Read More

A Christmas for Mata

(Short Story)

A short story told from Mata's perspective - on what happened at Christmas when Wisconsin farm boy Otto Kerchner came home on leave from Army Air Force pilot training to visit his sister Mata and his ailing parents... Read More

No Additional Postage Necessary

We’ve all been there, staring at a blank page, a blinking cursor, waiting for our version of The Grapes of Wrath to emerge, fully formed from our imagination in one caffeine-fueled dash through a nearly perfect first draft... Read More

bottom of page